Speaking christmas tree

23.11. - 23.12. | Main Entrance | Entry free

Entrance artwork

Speaking christmas tree

Anyone can have a Christmas tree. Sure, in the past there was more lametta, but today it’s just a few colorful baubles, plus the light show from the wall socket, and at the top sits an angel.
But a Christmas tree that talks and sings? Only Tollwood has that. A considerable tree, decorated with all kinds of colorful accessories, is emblazoned in the entrance area of the winter festival, and regularly at 6 and 8 p.m. it comes to life.

A tree shows face and speaks – stories from all over the world in original language

Then it talks to the audience, then a living face appears on the dark fir, it sings Christmas carols from all over the world. And every day at this time, the Christmas tree tells a Christmas story, each day in a different language.
With this Christmas tree, Tollwood wants to show how colorful Munich is, that Christmas is a global phenomenon and that the Tollwood Winter Festival is a multicultural mirror of this world.

 

The interactive Christmas tree:
It chimes and sounds: the Christmas tree chats and sings. Listen and join in – that’s how it comes alive.
From 23.11. to 23.12. from 5 to 9 p.m.

Christmas stories from around the world:
Stories about the Christmas season around the globe – read by speakers of the Intercultural Magazine of the Bavarian Broadcasting Corporation – from 23.11. to 23.12. at 6 and 8 pm.

 

Stories and speakers

Mondays – Turkish:

Özlem Sarikaya: “The celebration of a migrant worker family”

Spoken by Özlem Sarikaya

Tuesdays – French (Benin):

Clemént de Dravo: “A childhood in Benin”

Spoken by Clemént de Dravo

Wednesdays – Ukrainian:

Maria Soltys-Smirnova: “Christmas has come to us”

Spoken by Maryna Balaban and Julia Smilga

Thursdays – Greek:

Eleni Torossi: The Christmas tree of my childhood

Spoken by Eleni Iliadou and Fanny Atheras

Fridays – English:

Dylan Thomas: “A childhood Christmas in Wales”

Spoken by Julia Cortis

Saturdays – Swedish:

Lotta Lundberg: “The Feeling Christmas Tree”

Spoken by Tanja Zieger

Sundays – Spanish (Latin America):

Gloria Stolk : “Regalo de Navidad”

Spoken by Constanze Alvarez

We would like to thank SchauHoer Verlag for providing the story.

SprechenderBaum

All dates

  • Thu., 23.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 23.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 23.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 24.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 24.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 24.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 25.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 25.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 25.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 27.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 27.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 27.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 28.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 28.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 28.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 29.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 29.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 29.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 30.11.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 30.11.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 30.11.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 01.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 01.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 01.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 02.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 02.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 02.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 03.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 03.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 03.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 04.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 04.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 04.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 05.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 05.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 05.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 06.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 06.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 06.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 07.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 07.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 07.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 08.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 08.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 08.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 09.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 09.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 09.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 10.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 10.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 10.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 11.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 11.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 11.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 12.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 12.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 12.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 13.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 13.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 13.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 14.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 14.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 14.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 15.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 15.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 15.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 16.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 16.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 16.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 17.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 17.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sun., 17.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 18.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 18.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Mon., 18.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 19.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 19.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Tue., 19.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 20.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 20.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Wed., 20.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 21.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 21.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Thu., 21.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 22.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 22.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Fri., 22.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 23.12.2023 17:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 23.12.2023 18:00 hrs.
  • Sat., 23.12.2023 20:00 hrs.
Ad
Ad
Ad

Similar events

Unsere Werte - unsere Wurzeln KunstRaum

Collection of values

21.06.2024 - 20.07.2024 | KunstRaum | Free Entrance

Einmal Um Die Erde KunstRaum Tollwood Festival

Once around the world

21.06.2024 - 20.07.2024 | KunstRaum | Free Entrance

Schreibwerkstatt KunstRaum Tollwood Festival

Writing Workshop

23.06.2024 - 21.07.2024 | KunstRaum | Free Entrance

Tape Art Basteln + Werken Kinderbereich Tollwood Festival C Ingmar Wein

Tape-Art

Every Saturday | children's area | free admission